No Spend Project – Wood Lantern

I told you in the last post that I recently went through our burn barrel of scrap wood and found some amazing scrap pieces. Hubby always has a project going on so we have scrap wood quite often. Here are some of the pieces I saved:

scrap wood

I made this awesome Arrow sign out of it already!

arrow sign - scrap wood

And here is my next project:

wood lantern - scrap wood

I decided to tinker around during my lunch to see what I could make out of my scrap pieces. I pinned this idea last night:

wood lantern -

I just love the way these lanterns look so I took my scrap wood and started eyeing what size I wanted it to be. I measured my top and bottom piece to be somewhat square –> remember, I am working with wood that was free so the measurements may not be exact to yours.

I cut my piece of 1×4 for the top and again for the bottom to be somewhat square (4″ x 4″ x 1″). Next, to figure out the height of my lantern, I doubled the width of the base. This measurement for my 1×1 was at 8 inches (1″ x 1″ x 8″),  I also cut 4 half inch pieces for the legs (1″ x 1″ x 1/2″). I had another scrap piece that I used for the very top – where the wire will be placed. This piece was half the size of the top piece (2″x 2″ x 1″) Then, I cut some cross pieces for the top and bottom. Bottom pieces were thicker than the top pieces. I just formed everything and measured between the sides to get the appropriate lengths for the cross pieces.

I plan to make a smaller version of the same lantern, paint both with the same Annie Sloan Paint as I did in my dresser reno project, and add some details like candles and wire to complete the project. Be sure to check out the Final Reveal!

BLUE SIGNATURE

Leave a Reply

